Setting a WPA connection with netctl

Last week I tried to setup my laptop wireless adaptor to work at school. It turns out that on arch linux, the default network manager is netctl, an interesting piece of software, compliant with the arch way, that is, it’s configuration is mostly on the terminal with a text editor, as arch’s wiki explains.

However, what the wiki did not explain, is how to setup the network with a WPA2 configuration, and the examples that  I found were not of much help.

Finally, after a few hours of struggle at school, I could make my precious connection to the wireless network.

As my memory is very limited by so many years of watching the Simpsons show, I decided to save my configuration with a gist, just in case I need it in a later occasion.

The gist is here: https://gist.github.com/ixxra/6920140

Leave a Reply

